BTM: How to Be Evil

Camera: Samsung Camcorder

Editing Program: Windows Movie Maker

Other Equipment: Jill: the plastic baby doll

In hindsight, this video wasn’t very good. There’s no background music, the transitions are sloppy, and the lighting is horrendous. However, it was only my 21st (or 22nd*) video and I had absolutely no video editing experience prior to starting my YouTube channel so I’m going to blame inexperience for the poor quality.

*By my official count of my videos from the video manager option, this is the 21st video. But if you watch the video, my channel already had 21 videos when I filmed so logically this video should at least be the 22nd video.

conspiracy
It’s a conspiracy!

But the remarkable thing is that despite the low quality, this video is one of my most popular non-reaction videos. Now I know the internet can be innately evil, but I don’t think people that willingly strive to be evil would use a tutorial video from YouTube so I can’t attribute the video’s popularity to demand.

so evil
So evil.

The only thing I can attribute the popularity to is the fact that it falls right behind my second most popular video of all time. It’s a typical mindset for a bored YouTube user: they watch one entertaining video and if they like it enough, they’ll check that user’s channel for more videos. It makes sense that they’ll check the most recent video and since “How to Be Evil” was the most recent video, it got the popularity it didn’t deserve.

It’s actually an excellent lesson in video popularity. If you know that a video is going to be popular, like a Doctor Who reaction video, then plan a not-as-potentially-popular video to go after it to get views. Alternatively if you put another potentially popular video behind a popular video, you can try to rope in more subscribers by showing off that you make awesome videos. But that can also turn on you because those new subscribers might expect that same quality from you for every video and you’ll lose them if you aren’t consistent on your video quality.

Either way, I just find the whole ordeal very interesting. When I made ‘How to Be Evil,’ I wasn’t expecting it to be popular but the mere placement of the video made it very popular. It just shows how YouTube success is a game of strategy, not luck.

Leave a Reply

