Thoughts on #ThisIsWhatANerdLooksLike

If you follow me on Twitter, you might’ve noticed that I posted a selfie of myself a little while ago with the hashtag “#ThisIsWhatANerdLooksLike”.selfie If you don’t follow me on Twitter, well you’re missing out. I’m a delight on Twitter. Go follow me on Twitter.

Now I normally don’t post selfies because of reasons and I actually spent a solid ten minutes trying to think of a caption for this one. (Side note: Kudos to you people who can casually post a selfie without a reason. You’re all my heroes.) But the reason why I posted this selfie is that I am proud to be a nerd and I shouldn’t have to prove I’m a nerd just because I don’t look like a Big Bang Theory character.

The #ThisIsWhatANerdLooksLike campaign was created by the Grey Havens YA group to do just that: prove that you don’t need to fit society’s stereotype of a nerd to be a nerd. Everyone’s a nerd. You don’t need buck teeth, thick glasses, and suspenders to be one. All you need to do is love something passionately and enthusiastically to be a nerd.

Now I may be partial to this cause because even though I’ve been a nerd for as long as I can remember, I’ve still faced people who’ve said I’m not a nerd just because I’m an athlete. I mean obviously it could be worse, but it still sucks that everything I love and am passionate about is automatically invalidated just because I enjoy playing sports. Then of course, a good portion of the internet automatically believes girls can’t be nerds so my double X-chromosome invalidates my interests too.

Believe it or not, I’m still a nerd. My softball teammates and I enthused about Harry Potter and the Hunger Games in between ground balls at practices, I’m constantly annoying my friends with my endless superhero theories, and I have a whole YouTube channel filled with videos dedicated to my love for all nerdy things.

Society’s stereotype of nerds is long outdated and needs to change. Nobody should have to prove that they’re a nerd just because they don’t look like society’s expectations of one. That’s why #ThisIsWhatANerdLooksLike is so important because it’s an opportunity to see a range of people fromfirefighter firefighters to biology majors professing their love and pride for being a nerd even though they might not fit society’s idea of a nerd.

I encourage everyone and anyone who describes themselves as a nerd to post a picture of themselves on social media using #ThisIsWhatANerdLooksLike. More information on the cause can be found here with the original essay that sparked this movement. Nerds aren’t exclusive to characters on The Big Bang Theory and we need to recognize that anyone can be one. People shouldn’t have to prove their love for nerdy things and #ThisIsWhatANerdLooksLike is a step in the right direction.

Seriously check out the original essay that created #ThisIsWhatANerdLooksLike. My rambling definitely doesn’t give it the justice that it deserves. Don’t forget to post your selfie with #ThisIsWhatANerdLooksLike too!

4 thoughts on “Thoughts on #ThisIsWhatANerdLooksLike

  1. Maddie, thank you so much for supporting our campaign! This post is wonderful. Would it be alright if we reblogged it? Also, are you in the Boulder County area? Because Grey Havens YA would love to meet you! If you’d be interested in coming to speak to our young adults and/or join in one of our discussions, we’d be thrilled. Keep up the awesome, Robyn– Co-Director of Grey Havnes YA

    Like

    1. Hi Robyn!!! Yes you can totally reblog this post! I also would love to visit! I’m out of the state until May 15th, but I will be in Northern Colorado for most of the summer. It would be an honor to visit with your awesome group! Please email me at maddnessbusiness@gmail.com and we can work something out! 🙂

      Thanks,
      Maddie

      Like

  2. I want to second Robyn’s offer. It means so much to us at Grey Havens Ya that you are championing the #ThisIsWhatANerdLooksLike campaign inspired by one of our young members. Thank you for helping us to change nerd stereotypes and for helping the world to realize that we need the imagination and enthusiasm that nerds have in abundance!

    Like

Leave a Reply

