A Maddness Review of GooglePlus

Ah Google Plus. I’ve never imagined I could absolutely despise something created by Google (all hail the overlord) this much. It can’t even compete with the YouTube comments section because it is the YouTube comments section. Google Plus is the worst thing that’s ever come to Google and it’s never going to go away.

Let’s start out with how I joined: it was a hostage situation. When Google Plus first started up, it was nothing. Nobody wanted to join it because it’s terrible. So Google went ahead and took the initiative by holding every single YouTube channel hostage until they joined Google Plus. I tried to hold out, I really did. But my channel was small and weak and it couldn’t hold out against the pressure for much longer. When I finally caved, I somehow created multiple Google Plus pages with the same name and it was nearly impossible to delete them. In fact one still remains because I’m scared that if I delete it, I’ll delete my channel.

channels
Help

My Google Plus page(s) sat there for over two years doing nothing but allowing me to continue to use YouTube to the fullest. In the meantime, I would very occasionally get a notification that somebody added me to their “circle.” I don’t know what that means. Why would you make your content exclusive to just one circle? Why can’t I just be promised that whatever I share will be shared to everyone? What’s the point of using this site if nobody’s going to see it because I’m not in the right circles?! WHY IS THE TIN CAN BROTHERS FOLLOWING ME IN THEIR CIRCLE?! WHAT PURPOSE DOES THIS SERVE?!

what do you want
WHAT DO YOU WANT?!?!

Okay so eventually I started to attempt to use Google Plus regularly. But I got roped in with all of the “you would enjoy this” suggestions because wow that’s actually ingenious for Google to use my internet history to decide my interests. A little creepy, but ingenious. I spent about fifteen minutes or so following these suggested pages and communities (no idea what the difference is) thinking that it wouldn’t be that big of deal.

I was very, very wrong.

Now my entire homepage is covered with Harry Potter quizzes in foreign languages or surveys to determine which Hermione is the best Hermione, basically a bunch of stuff I could care less about.But I also don’t care enough to figure out a way to unfollow/get them out of my circles because good lord that would take a day and a half.

send help
This is my life now.

Everything takes a day and a half to figure out on Google Plus. When I started to post stuff to my Google Plus, for some reason it only posted to one circle with only one person in it BECAUSE I DON’T UNDERSTAND THE CIRCLES OKAY?! Anyway, I didn’t want my stuff to only be posted to one circle with one person in it. I wanted all the people who have me in their circles (never going to understand the circles) to see my stuff. But I had no way to change that. I even Googled how to change it and nobody knew. Let me repeat that: Google, the overlord of the internet, didn’t know how to change a setting in their own social networking site. It was frustrating to figure it out. The whole site is frustrating.

I mean, just look at it! The layout is messy, there’s no way to manually organize it, and there’s no clarity. The only people who can operate Google Plus is Google, all hail the overlords. If you know anything about me, you know that I’m addicted to social media. I should be able to operate this site, but I can’t for the life of me. Maybe I’m giving myself too much credit, but it seriously shouldn’t be easier to delete your entire YouTube channel than it is to make a post public.

two clicks
It took me two clicks to get here.

After all of this misery, why do I still use Google Plus? Well simply put, I’m sucking up to Google. Word on the web is that the more you use Google Plus, the more exposure your YouTube channel receives. It’s completely plausible. After all, this is the same social media site that held all of the YouTube channels hostage just to get more users. Why wouldn’t it give an advantage to the channels that give in to their demands?

On that note, Google Plus is the best social media site I have ever used and I use ten of them. Everyone go use Google Plus and add me in all of their circles because circles are the best.

All hail Google.

Check out my YouTube channel! I think I deserve it for dealing with Google+. Also check out this video I did when the Google+ hostage situation first began and my review of LinkedIn

Leave a Reply

