Second Season of ‘Scare PewDiePie’: Good or Bad Idea?

PewDiePie, YouTube’s most subscribed creator, announced last Sunday that he would be filming the second season of his YouTube Red show ‘Scare PewDiePie’ for the next month, confirming the renewal of a series that has received an astounding rating of 1.5 stars out of 5 on IMDB, Common Sense Media, and tv-episodes.com.

Now I love PewDiePie. I greatly respect him as a creator, even if I’m not a fan of his gaming videos, and my first real exposure to him was through the first season of ‘Scare PewDiePie’. I personally found it to be a fun experience and it made me laugh harder than most TV shows.  However, I am not the fan of the idea of a second season of ‘Scare PewDiePie’.

The main reason for my disinterest is based solely on the most entertaining factor of the first season which was how spontaneous the scares were. They had the actress playing his obsessed assistant freaking him out, he didn’t even know when the first episode was being filmed, and he had no idea what to expect with any of the challenges.

My fear with the second season is that we’ll lose that entertaining edge that made the first season so glorious in the first place. He’ll know what to expect and unless YouTube can get creative, it’ll just be a repeat of the first season which had lost its magic by “Level 10”.

First vs. Last episode of ‘Scare PewDiePie’ Season 1

For me, a better second season of ‘Scare PewDiePie’ would be to not scare PewDiePie. He could still be involved in the creative process and act like a front to the whole thing (who says he’s not already?), but instead they could ‘Scare Markiplier’ or ‘Scare Jackscepticeye’. Both are popular let’s players on YouTube with a committed massive fan base. There wouldn’t be a problem with finding viewers for it at the very least and from a creative standpoint, it would be great to see someone new in the seat PewDiePie is hoarding.

Screen Shot 2016-11-03 at 5.39.02 PM.png
Markiplier in the second episode of ‘Scare PewDiePie’ season one.

However, maybe this second season of ‘Scare PewDiePie’ will improve what the first season seriously lacked on and up that general 1.5 star review. There could be improved sets, a less obvious fake person implanted to freak PewDiePie out, and they could recruit more people to help out. One of the easiest and biggest ways they could improve the series is to involve his community in one way or another. While I understand the need to appeal for a larger audience, a large part of YouTube Red’s exclusive shows’ failures is that they’re taking something (or someone) with a massive community and ripping the community out. Sure in ‘Scare PewDiePie’, he does the bro-fist and his classic intro, but there’s no mention of Edgar, Maya, Slippy, Marzia, or even any involvement with fans aside from some staged events to start an episode.

Overall, I’ll probably still watch the second season because I found the first one so amusing, even if the ending was terrible and some of the stages reeked of a cheap haunted house rather. But I’m just saying there are many improvements to be made if they want the second season to be successful at all. Either way, I guess it’s just more money in PewDiePie’s pocket.

pewds

Want more of my thoughts on PewDiePie? Well no look further. Also add me on PewDiePie’s Tuber Simulator! I’m TheMaddness22 on it and I NEED THE FRIENDS. I’m seriously so addicted to that app you have no idea. I almost spent ACTUAL money on it. It’s crazy.

Leave a Reply

